Board of Supervisors

Meeting Schedule

The Franklin County Board of Supervisors holds meetings twice monthly.

  • 3:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of the month and Thursday of the same week **
  • Board Room
    Franklin County Government Center
    1255 Franklin Street
    Rocky Mount, VA 24151
  • 2024 Adopted Meeting Dates (PDF)

** Unless otherwise duly noticed.

Public hearings and public comment are held at 6:00 p.m. on the first meeting date of the month for the convenience of the public.

Regular meetings are broadcast live and available to watch on the County's YouTube Channel.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas and documents about agenda items are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Franklin County Board of Supervisors is composed of one member for each of the seven election districts.

Board of Supervisors Group Picture 2024

Pictured from left to right: Lorie Smith (Gills Creek District), Dan Quinn (Union Hall District), Tim Tatum, Vice-Chairman (Blue Ridge District), Ronnie Thompson, Chairman (Boone District), Mike Carter (Rocky Mount District), Nick Mitchell (Snow Creek District), and Marshall Jamison (Blackwater District)

Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide services and leadership in order to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Franklin County and to promote an outstanding quality of life. We will balance the needs and desires of the public with available resources while administering policies and ordinances in a fair and courteous manner. We will protect our community and environment, preserve our heritage, and anticipate future needs, demands, and opportunities.